Bag packing, Gratitude and the best news!

Standard
10617330_10152296731388008_1573210503_n

Me clearly not posing at all while bag packing 😉

Hello again. I have been busy bag packing for the past two days and the results have been incredible. I made £163.71 on the first day, £102.90 on the second and £266.61 overall. This means that I have surpassed my fundraising target of £800 and I have raised £872.60 overall with one event still left. I apologize for attacking you with figures 😛

I honestly don’t know how to feel, it hasn’t quite sunk in yet that I am going to Rwanda and I have raised all the money. It feels surreal, like I am in a dream. This could be because I am tired from bag packing. I just feel so grateful to everyone who has donated and helped me out, it makes me feel so happy and amazed at the generosity shown by all. It blows me away and gives me hope that we can make a difference.

10589680_10152296731623008_2104141261_n

A wonderful staff member from Waitrose

All that change and those odd pound coins didn’t look like much at first until I came to count it all up and realize that every single penny helped. You see its not always about how much that coin is worth but the feeling it was given with. All that money was given willingly (at least I hope so) with a good heart and a smile and that is almost as good as reaching my target. 

I have so many people to thank, the staff at Waitrose for letting me bag pack. If I hadn’t done that I would never have reached my target so fast. The staff were all so friendly and made me feel at ease immediately. The customers were all so lovely and polite, I even met one who went to school with Mary Berry (I was very excited at finding this out). I also need to thank my mum for being such a big help, without her and my family’s support I doubt I would have been able to fund raise so quickly and so well.

10589680_10152296732408008_1154302717_n

Another wonderful staff member at Wetherspoons

10617585_10152296732638008_1615314302_n

My wonderful mum who has been such a big help ❤

I want to thank Wetherspoons for letting me sell my cards and bookmarks in there, it was so nice to be able to leave a money jar and be able to do other things without worrying. Candy Jax have been amazing for hosting my “guess the sweets in the jar” event. It means so much to me that she would be so generous with her time. Also the Melksham Independent news (http://melkshamnews.com/) have been great, they were kind enough to interview me and write an article about me and Tearfund. Hopefully it will inspire other people to volunteer and make a difference. Also a huge thanks to Tearfund for giving me this opportunity and the tools to fundraise. It really means the world to me. 

10476657_10152296732798008_1995225782_n

My bag packing station, it was so fun but much harder than it looks 😛

And last but not least I want to say a huge thank you to God, yes I know this is cheesy. But without God none of this would have been possible. I am just a big happy, thankful, overwhelmed bundle of emotions right now, which is extremely hard to put into words!

I hope you enjoyed this post, this is the end of my fundraising journey but the start of another to Kigali, where I believe the real journey begins ( I am so deep 😉 )

Love

Sarah

xxx

Leave a Reply

