My Italian Journey: Day 19

Standard
My Italian Journey: Day 19

Buongiorno!

So I have been here for almost 3 weeks now and homesickness feels more like a distant echo (I am so relieved). I have been very busy teaching and I actually managed to teach an entire lesson by myself. As a new teacher this was terrifying but it showed me that I can do more than I think. I long to improve but like my sister said, you get better with practice, not magic.

I suppose in hindsight I thought moving abroad would magically change me into a better person straight away, but as it happens change is a gradual thing. Besides, there is nothing terrible about being me, I am just a little obsessed with self improvement! I think I am finally getting used to being in Italy and I am improving my language skills. Although some days I get overwhelmed with everything and I have a cosy day with tea and copious amounts of Downton Abbey.

Overall I am doing well, I have started to explore more areas of Palmi and I found what I can only describe as a park, with the most gorgeous view. I am very lucky to be here and I feel as if I am finding my feet, quite slowly, but I am in a much better place than I was before.

Ciao

Sarah Gale

xxx

Leave a Reply

